top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureB.C.Lawrence

The Depths of doubt

Updated: Nov 26, 2018

Where was the divine truth?

When doubt consumed thought; burdening the serene

What soul can judge strong faith, what body?

Is it the strength of the prayer or the hope in it?

Divine truth had lips of ice, a breeze I couldn’t feel.

Where was the sign, a holy mecca, a throne?

For me to rest my questions, with a flooding head.

Where was the divine, when I called

Why would it not answer me, there are more prayers than a bible can hold.

Of what loneliness did the corner feel, while hugged at both sides.

As a demon sat on my chest, the divine’s words dropped in murmurs

A kaleidoscope of feelings meshed with the unholy, the unrighteous.

To what does the child, with a belly full of questions

Owe to the smothering adult?

What tempest of views will perceive to dwindle upon the mind of a babe,

To create anxiety in unanswered prayers.

To what do I owe thee? Spirit of flesh,

What virtue shall I call upon thee?

With clenched knees cutting through pages,

Clenched fists to the conscious lost.


Romina Cialdella

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art & Literature

bottom of page