top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureB.C.Lawrence

She lost herself


She lost herself ,she left us

A pile of diminished promises.

She left us, she left herself,

A box of mixed messages.

I’m a witness to a battered women,

Convict in the prison of youth.

She left us, she left god,

She’d never pray, cursing anyone with a cross-sectioned heart

Popping thoughts with aggression.

I’ve gone through this, from the start.

She left us, she left herself,

A bottle of empty tears,

Translucent and meaningless.

She used to be my rock, but never was,

She’s a part of something that I never had.

She lost herself, to the pain she called home.

How could you leave a teary child,

For happiness that would only last for a while.

You took the bruises like they were affection,

That’s the only home you know.

I opened up your heart, for a better inspection,

To find a concoction of troubles,

But I hope you’re home, in less peace and sound.

If your'e happy, it doesn't show.


This is a place of honesty, of growth.

Poetry is therapy.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art & Literature

bottom of page