top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureB.C.Lawrence

Our song

Updated: Sep 2, 2018


It was too early for me to understand music. I’d dance with two left feet at the chance of an entwined melody. I scribbled notes in class but only wrote your name. I turned the volume up on my headphones to persuade the music to carry me home. To only find that home had twisted notes curled by time and effort. I tried to explore different genres, only to come back to that one song. I didn’t understand it at first, I forced myself too in the end. That’s why the words slipped from my fingers and the strings broke into wisps’ of angel feathers. They gently exited my hand like butterfly’s with gentle fingers. I didn’t grab at it, rather it brought me along, to ride the waves of sound with a melody in my heart. It brought me straight back to that song where two would collide in unison amidst the battle of the damned. Revelation struck like cupids arrow as a broomstick. It knocked me back to earth where we laid, starry eyed at the starless sky. And that song brushed passed our hearts, beating a drum of validation. I disregarded that flutter in my chest, as if there were moths. Only to realize the burning flame was the heat between us. If I could turn back the rainbow of mixed emotions spewed across my canvas of a body I’d glide across it, with you hand in hand. To find a treasure music could only bring, a dance upon crystal waters being kisses by purple rain. We’d dance the night away in our dreams without delay. I swear to you, I still listen to that song. Instead of butterflies in my chest, I feel rain, gentle droplets of what once was a beautiful storm.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art & Literature

bottom of page