top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureB.C.Lawrence

Day 5

Creative writing prompt:




After school vacation, rumors spread surrounding the events of a certain teacher. The goal is to write a first-person narrative essay, as a student in the class.


My pencil case was out, my stationary neatly placed on the desk. I was in a self-imposed state as Mr Aubrey walked in. The class stood and acknowledged his presence. As we sat, whispered started to roam around the class. My curiosity got the best of me and I nudged at Candice, who sat next to me. Candice can be described as a very inquisitive mind, always up to date with the latest gossip. And so with the turn of my cheek, I asked," What's going on?".


She waited for Sir to address the class until he spoke. "Apparently", she spoke with red cheeks. "A photo's going around, with sir and a student". My eyes widened, I looked at sir and back at her. "Sir?", I repeated, "Sir, sir?". She nodded. "Do you know who?", I started to unpack my books. She shook her head and ducked down to my side of the table to whisper."All I know is, she's in our class". It was as if Jenny, sitting behind us-heard the conversation because she seemed as shocked as I was when I turned back.


When our eyes met she merely commented with the shake of her head. Her partner next to her replied. "I bet it's Mia". Both Candice and I turned to her. "Why would you think that?". Candice was a bit offended, as she replied," Just because you don't like her, doesn't mean you can go around ruining her reputation". With the click of her tongue, she turned back to the front. In a low voice, she commented," It says a lot about you then it does her". The tension made me nod a fake smile and turn back to the front.


Sir was normal of course, a rumor is just a rumor. "What exactly is on this photo?". Candice shrugged."It's something so simple, you'll probably laugh". We started to copy down the mind map Mr Aubrey was creating on the board. "Try me", I said without looking at her. She drew quickly and turned with a smile. "It's a photo of them holding hands". I could feel my eyes rolling to the back of my head. She shared the same sentiment as we both looked at each other and shook our heads. We both said at the same time. "High school", with a sigh. Then we laughed at our sudden twin-talk-but that's what best friends do.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art & Literature

bottom of page