top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureB.C.Lawrence

Day 2

Creative Essay Topic: My strange dream




It happened during one of my usual rants, regarding the toxicity of peers. Christopher was leaning on the fence, arms crossed. His head was down having headphones around his neck-just listening. I didn't mind my step and when my one rant turned into a full blown yell, I nearly fell face first on the floor. Rather than falling on the ground, I fell right into him. Something happened at that moment, like a kick of something enigmatic. At first, it felt like a bee sting, we both flinched. By the time I came to my senses, I jumped back and apologized. Low and behold, before going to bed that night I felt that same prickling of the heart. It was not a lover experience where two hearts speak to each other in Morse code. It was more abrupt, quick as lightning.


I paid no attention to it and slept like a babe. The next morning when I came too, I woke in different pajamas. Boxer shorts with a worn shirt, nuzzling against thick pillows. I had thin pillows, these were suffocating. I got up, didn't look at my body because I felt fine. As soon as I greeted the mirror, my heart fell out of my chest. I fainted, right there on an unfamiliar carpet. When I fell, I fell onto my chest and it didn't hurt as much. Why? My breasts disappeared. My hair shortened to a fade, and my torso was longer-my legs too. When I screamed, my voice was deeper. I went back to the mirror and froze. I asked," Christopher?", in a voice other than my own.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art & Literature

bottom of page