top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureB.C.Lawrence

Creative Writing Piece

- I had to do a small project, the topic was: 'My First Date'.

-Hope you enjoy, feel free to comment-



Drakes lyrics burst through the speakers ‘You’re still the one I adore, ain’t much out there to have feelings for’. His words deflect destructive thoughts, I carried my gaze back to the passing landscape. Patiently waiting, draped in unease. My first date is about to be epic, Why? We’re visiting the Lourve , it’s classified as one of the worlds most revered artistic treasures. There’s one artwork in particular, carved with a ravishing smile. A walking muse , with whom I shall walk the halls with.


I stepped out of the vehicle, drawn to his gaze my heart started racing. At first his eyes were scanning the parking lot attentively zooming onto his target. Time stopped, slowly and methodically taking it’s time to curve the line of his lips. We greeted each other nervously, hands entwined he led the way into the automated gates. We were armed with awe and wonder of the glorious productions that jumped out at us. Inside the Lourve, walls were adorned with famous paintings, an ocean of sculptures marked the floor. There were people gawking at the works on display, a few turned to smile at our arrival. He led me into a passage with less of a crowd to handle, taking my hand and walking me through history.


’ What are we going to see first?’, I kept at his walking pace.’ Important things first’, he smiled. I stopped in the hall where the Mona Lisa canvas stood,’ What could be more important than this?’. He grabbed both my hands, stared into the stars of my eyes and said with words clasping the crescent,’ You’. Unbeknownst to me, his gaze kept fluttering back to me as I analysed artworks.


Next, the sky turned jade and night fell. Visitors were exiting the building, filling their cameras with memories. We stumbled down a hallway, that had paintings covered in white sheeting. I looked to him, perplexed by the sudden change of scenery. He held my hand to reassure me, to nudge me to adventure farther . I took one sheet off, A women’s piercing gaze struck me, she wore a traditional dress with beading's of different colors. Next, the second artwork was a girl dancing in cubic rain. I looked back at him, he was confident and persistent,’ Carry one’, he’d say.


The very last artwork was a fresco plastered on the wall, a huge panel with golden framing detailed to the tip. I opened it. And I stared back at my own reflection, crafted in acrylic. The picture consisted of the greenery of nature ,where I laid in a hanging chaise lounger overlooking the tropical islands. Abstract , interesting. The harsh brushstrokes in the background surrounded the soft dashes of my skin, the emotion was apparent. Word’s weren’t able to escape my glued lips, I turned to him and hugged him in an embrace that said ‘Thank you’.


Authors's note: I will be writing a new episode of Rise soon.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Art & Literature

bottom of page